Globus Connect Personal allows you to share and transfer files to and from your Apple laptop or desktop computer — even if it’s behind a firewall. Follow the steps below to turn your personal computer into a Globus endpoint.

Installation

  1. Download Globus Connect Personal.

    gcp download mac
  2. Follow the on screen install instructions.

  3. At the end of the installation, you will see an icon in the menu bar at the top of your screen, indicating that Globus Connect Personal is running and your new collection is ready to be used.

    gcp osx 6

Configuration

Click the Globus Connect Personal icon in the main menu bar and select "Preferences…​" to configure Globus Connect Personal.

gcp osx 7

The "General" preferences tab allows you to specify how the Globus icon looks and whether the software should automatically check for updates. "Use black and white menu bar icons" changes the color of the Globus Connect Personal status icon in the menu bar. The “Automatically check for updates” and “Automatically download updates” options determine how Globus Connect Personal should handle availability of a newer version. We recommend leaving the “Automatically check for updates" option selected for automatic notification of important security updates.

gcp osx 8
Figure 1. General Preferences Tab

The "Access" preferences tab lists accessible directories for file transfer and sharing and provides more control over what information is accessible on your Globus Connect Personal endpoint. By default, your home directory (e.g.: /Users/demodoc) is read/write accessible. The "Deny access to hidden (e.g. security) files in your home directory" option controls whether or not you can access hidden files (i.e. filenames beginning with "."") in your home directory. By default, Globus Connect Personal does not allow access to files like: ~/.globusonline and ~/.ssh.

gcp osx 9
Figure 2. Access Tab

Click the "+" icon and select a folder to make it accessible for transfers. To allow the folder to be shared, check the "Sharable" box.

Note

To share folders, you must either be a Globus Plus user, or your Globus Personal endpoint must be managed under a subscription.
Note

If you remove everything from the access list, no files will be accessible on your Globus Connect Personal endpoint and you will be prompted to add accessible paths. You can either click "+" and add directories and files, or click "Reset to Defaults".
gcp osx 10

The Info tab displays internal configuration information that may be helpful for troubleshooting issues and may be requested by the Globus Support team to assist with any resolution.

gcp osx 11
Figure 3. Info Tab

Removing Globus Connect Personal

If you remove Globus Connect Personal, you will not be able to transfer files to or from your personal computer using Globus, and other Globus users will no longer have access to any folders on your computer that you may have shared with them.

To remove Globus Connect Personal:

  1. Click the Globus Connect Personal icon in the main menu bar and select "Preferences…​".

    gcp osx 7
  2. Click "Delete Globus Connect Personal configuration and exit".

    gcp osx 12
  3. Click "Delete & Exit" to remove all Globus Connect Personal settings from your computer.

    gcp osx 13
  4. Navigate to your Applications directory and delete the Globus Connect Personal application.